Wray Gets Senate Committee Approval for FBI Director

In 1935, the FBI was separated from the Justice Department and became an independent agency. J. Edgar Hoover was the first Director of the FBI and served in that position until 1972. Discounting a number of Acting Directors, Robert Mueller, the current Special Counsel investigating the Russian election affair was the 6th actual Director of the FBI, serving from 2001 to 2013. James Comey was appointed to the position in 2013 by Barack Obama was supposed to serve a 10-year term. However, due to strong differences, President Trump fired Comey earlier this year. That left Andrew McCabe, the Deputy Director to serve as the Acting Director. President Trump nominated Christopher Wray, a former US Assistant Attorney General for the Criminal Division under George W. Bush. Yesterday, the Senate Judiciary Committee voted unanimously to approve the nomination of Wray. His nomination will now move to the full Senate floor.

The Senate Judiciary Committee on Thursday approved President Trump’s nomination of Christopher Wray to serve as FBI director.

“His unanimous support by the Judiciary Committee today is a strong indication of our faith in his abilities to lead the FBI, and I look forward to confirming him on the Senate floor,” Iowa Sen. Chuck Grassley, the committee’s Republican chairman, said in a statement.

Wray’s nomination now heads to the Senate for a full confirmation vote. Trump announced his selection of Wray to lead the FBI last month after abruptly firing FBI Director James Comey in May…

Trending: Dem Wants You to Help Pay Other People’s Rent

While Trump and some close to him have referred to the Russian election interference and possible links to the Trump campaign a witch hunt, Wray has publicly said they are not a witch hunt. This stand may just win the support of many Senate Democrats. If confirmed, Wray will serve a 10-year term as Director of the FBI or until he is fired by Trump or Trump’s successor.




Join the conversation!

We have no tolerance for comments containing violence, racism, vulgarity, profanity, all caps, or discourteous behavior. Thank you for partnering with us to maintain a courteous and useful public environment where we can engage in reasonable discourse.